Most Rev. James Vernon Weisgerber –

Fifth Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon, 1996-2000

James Weisgerber was born on May 1, 1938 in Vibank, Saskatchewan. Following his schooling at Vibank, he attended St. Peter’s College at Muenster and then St. Paul’s University in Ottawa where he obtained licentiate degrees in Philosophy and Theology. He was ordained a priest at Holy Rosary Cathedral in Regina on June 1, 1963 and named a Monsignor (Prelate of Honour) on October 16, 1991.

Weisgerber was Dean of Arts at Notre Dame College (now Athol Murray College) in Wilcox, Saskatchewan where he taught philosophy, religious studies and French. He worked several years in the Regina Archbishop’s Office serving as the director of the pastoral and social justice offices. He served as Rector of Holy Rosary Cathedral and Pastor of Holy Trinity Parish, both in Regina, as well as Our Lady of Sorrows Parish in Fort Qu’Appelle, which included pastoral ministry with neighboring aboriginal communities.

In 1990 he was elected General Secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, a position he held until his ordination as the Bishop of Saskatoon.

He was appointed Bishop of Saskatoon by His Holiness, Pope John Paul II on March 7, 1996. He was ordained to the episcopacy and installed as bishop on May 3, 1996 at St. Patrick’s Church, Saskatoon by Archbishop Peter Mallon, with Archbishop Joseph MacNeil and Bishop Joseph MacDonald serving as co-consecrators.

Weisgerber was named Archbishop of Winnipeg by Pope John Paul II on June 7, 2000 and installed on August 24, 2000 at St. Mary’s Cathedral, Winnipeg.

Archbishop Weisgerber is currently (2007-2009) the President of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB)

[Some information from Archdiocese of Winnipeg website]